Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football / John U. Bacon
Book | Farrar, Straus and Giroux | 2011 | First edition.

Additional actions:

Details

Edition
First edition.
Description
viii, 438 pages ; 24 cm
Summary
"The national spotlight never strays from the University of Michigan football team. More people have seen the Wolverines play football--in person and on TV--than any other team in the nation. Michigan boasts the most wins, the best winning percentage, the biggest stadium, the most alumni, the most heated rivalries, and the richest tradition in the game. As their famed fight song proclaims, the Wolverines are "Victors valiant. conqu'ring heroes." Or they were, until 2008. The brilliant but star-crossed Rich Rodriguez led the young Wolverines through three of the program's toughest seasons. With the entire sports world watching, they enjoyed thrilling victories and suffered heartbreaking losses, often falling short in the winner-take-all struggle of big-time college football. Day after day for three years, John U. Bacon watched the drama unfold, from the sidelines to the locker room to the meeting rooms and even the homes of the players and coaches. No sportswriter has ever been granted more intimate access to a top-flight college football program. Now Bacon--an award-winning journalist and coauthor of Bo's Lasting Lessons--has written a narrative saga in the vein of Friday Night Lights and Season on the Brink. His story is one of hopes raised and dashed; of reputations pumped up, then punctured; and of coaches and youngsters striving to satisfy the demands of a culture that values winning above all else"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
ISBN
9780809094660 hardback $28.00
0809094665 hardback
Extras
Back to top