Before we were yours : A Novel / Lisa Wingate
电子图书 | 2017
eBookId: 57D18822-C382-4AE7-882A-208272B39ED6

附加操作:

关闭

更多

关闭 The checkbox checked. 仅显示可用的 The checkbox unchecked. 仅显示可用的 The checkbox checked. 仅显示可用的 The checkbox unchecked. 仅显示可用的
全部搜索

馆藏

馆藏地 索书号 状态 Note URL
All Libraries - Shared Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 All patrons click here to access this title from OverDrive.
Avon - Downloadable Materials Overdrive eBook 可下载 Avon Library cardholders click here to access this title from Overdrive
Berlin - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Berlin-Peck cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Bristol - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Bristol cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Burlington - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Burlington cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Cheshire - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Cheshire Library cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Colchester - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Colchester cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
East Hartford - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 East Hartford cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Enfield - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Enfield cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.
Mansfield - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Mansfield cardholders click here to access this title from Overdrive
New Britain - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 New Britain cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Newington - Downloadable Materials OverDrive E-Book 可下载 Newington cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.
Plainville - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Plainville Library cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Portland - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Portland cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.
Simsbury - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Simsbury cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
South Windsor - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 South Windsor cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
West Hartford - Downloadable Materials OverDrive eBook 可下载 West Hartford cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Wethersfield - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Wethersfield cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive
Windsor - Downloadable Materials OverDrive Ebook 可下载 Windsor cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.
Show fewer items

更多细节

载体形态
1 online resource
data file rda
摘要
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in chargéђؤuntil strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parentśђؤbut they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance⁺ѓ, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandalśђؤin which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the countrýђؤLisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.Advance praise for Before We Were Yours"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power. That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children's Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river gypsy Rill Foss. Rill's utterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned, as will Wingate's courage to follow her anywhere. . . . Vivid and affecting."́ђؤPaula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun "A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I'm still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls."́ђؤJamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet "An unforgettable read . . . This captivating novel will quite likely break your heart, but because it's Lisa Wingate at the helm, you will not be left broken. She is a master storyteller and never fails to get to the heart of what makes us hold on to hope."́ђؤSusan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life "Lisa Wingate's heart-racing tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children's Home Society scandal rang so true I couldn't sleep until I knew their fate. Days later, I'm still haunted by the diabolical plot to steal and sell the most vulnerable children to high bidders, sanctioned by high-ranking officials who looked the other way."́ђؤJulie Kibler, author of Calling Me Home
复制
Electronic reproduction. New York : Ballantine Books, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1371 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
主题
类型/表格
其他表格:
Original 9780425284681
国际标准书号
9780425284698 (electronic bk)
返回上方