Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection / Anne Kim
Book | The New Press | 2020

Additional actions:

Details

Description
241 pages ; 23 cm
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 197-225) and index.
Contents
Embarking -- Drifting: avenues to disconnection -- Anchored: paths to reconnection -- A new youth agenda.
Summary
"For the majority of young adults today, the transition to independence is a time of excitement and possibility. But 4.5 million young people--or a stunning 11.5 percent of youth aged sixteen to twenty-four--experience entry into adulthood as abrupt abandonment, a time of disconnection from school, work, and family. For this growing population of Americans, which includes kids aging out of foster care and those entangled with the justice system, life screeches to a halt when adulthood arrives. Abandoned is the first-ever exploration of this tale of dead ends and broken dreams. Author Anne Kim skillfully weaves heart-rending stories of young people navigating early adulthood alone, in communities where poverty is endemic and opportunities almost nonexistent. She then describes a growing awareness--including new research from the field of adolescent brain science--that "emerging adulthood" is just as crucial a developmental period as early childhood, and she profiles an array of unheralded programs that provide young people with the supports they need to achieve self-sufficiency. A major work of deeply reported narrative nonfiction, Abandoned joins the small shelf of books that change the way we see our society and point to a different path forward."--Publisher's website.
"A deeply affecting exposé of America's hidden crisis of disconnected youth, in the tradition of Matthew Desmond and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
Chronological Term
ISBN
9781620975008 hardcover
1620975009 hardcover
9781620975688 electronic book
Extras
Back to top