The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket / Benjamin Lorr
Book | Avery, an imprint of Penguin Random House | 2020
17 holds on first copy returned of 10 copies

Additional actions:

Details

Description
328 pages ; 24 cm
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages [277]-316) and index.
Summary
"In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, an extraordinary investigation into the human lives at the heart of the American grocery store What does it take to run the American supermarket? How do products get to shelves? Who sets the price? And who suffers the consequences of increased convenience end efficiency? In this alarming exposé, author Benjamin Lorr pulls back the curtain on this highly secretive industry. Combining deep sourcing, immersive reporting, and compulsively readable prose, Lorr leads a wild investigation in which we learn: The secrets of Trader Joe's success from Trader Joe himself Why truckers call their job "sharecropping on wheels" What it takes for a product to earn certification labels like "organic" and "fair trade" The struggles entrepreneurs face as they fight for shelf space, including essential tips, tricks, and traps for any new food business The truth behind the alarming slave trade in the shrimp industry The result is a page-turning portrait of an industry in flux, filled with the passion, ingenuity, and exploitation required to make this everyday miracle continue to function. The product of five years of research and hundreds of interviews across every level of the industry, The Secret Life of Groceries delivers powerful social commentary on the inherently American quest for more and the social costs therein"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
Genre/Form
Other Form:
Online version: Lorr, Benjamin, The secret life of groceries New York : Avery, Penguin Random House LLC, 2020. 9780553459401 (DLC) 2020004950
ISBN
9780553459395 (hardcover)
0553459392 (hardcover)
9780553459401 (ebook)
Extras
Back to top