6 之10

Before we were yours : A Novel / Lisa Wingate

The checkbox checked.
仅显示可用的
The checkbox unchecked.
仅显示可用的
The checkbox checked.
仅显示可用的
The checkbox unchecked.
仅显示可用的

馆藏

false

All Libraries - Shared Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

All patrons click here to access this title from OverDrive.

false

Avon - Downloadable Materials

Overdrive eBook

可下载

Avon Library cardholders click here to access this title from Overdrive

false

Berlin - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Berlin-Peck cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Bristol - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Bristol cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Burlington - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Burlington cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Cheshire - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Cheshire Library cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Colchester - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Colchester cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

East Hartford - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

East Hartford cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Enfield - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Enfield cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.

false

Mansfield - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Mansfield cardholders click here to access this title from Overdrive

false

New Britain - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

New Britain cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Newington - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive E-Book

可下载

Newington cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.

false

Plainville - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Plainville Library cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Portland - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Portland cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.

false

Simsbury - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Simsbury cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

South Windsor - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

South Windsor cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

West Hartford - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive eBook

可下载

West Hartford cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Wethersfield - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Wethersfield cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive

false

Windsor - Downloadable Materials

OverDrive Ebook

可下载

Windsor cardholders click here to access this title from OverDrive.

材料类型
电子图书
作者
Wingate, Lisa,
出版资料
2017.

更多细节

载体形态
1 online resource
data file rda
摘要
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in chargéђؤuntil strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parentśђؤbut they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance⁺ѓ, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandalśђؤin which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the countrýђؤLisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.Advance praise for Before We Were Yours"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power. That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children's Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river gypsy Rill Foss. Rill's utterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned, as will Wingate's courage to follow her anywhere. . . . Vivid and affecting."́ђؤPaula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun "A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I'm still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls."́ђؤJamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet "An unforgettable read . . . This captivating novel will quite likely break your heart, but because it's Lisa Wingate at the helm, you will not be left broken. She is a master storyteller and never fails to get to the heart of what makes us hold on to hope."́ђؤSusan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life "Lisa Wingate's heart-racing tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children's Home Society scandal rang so true I couldn't sleep until I knew their fate. Days later, I'm still haunted by the diabolical plot to steal and sell the most vulnerable children to high bidders, sanctioned by high-ranking officials who looked the other way."́ђؤJulie Kibler, author of Calling Me Home
复制
Electronic reproduction. New York : Ballantine Books, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1371 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
主题
Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Literature.
类型/表格
Electronic books.
其他表格:
Original 9780425284681
国际标准书号
9780425284698 (electronic bk)